Nestle Smarties Book Prize

The Nestlé Children's Book Prize, and Nestlé Smarties Book Prize for a time, was a set of annual awards for British children's books that ran from 1985 to 2007. It was administered by Booktrust, an independent charity that promotes books and reading in the United Kingdom, and sponsored by Nestle.


9-11 years

  • (Gold) Shadow Forest by Matt Haig
  • (Silver) Catcall by Linda Newbery
  • (Bronze) Here Lies Arthur by Philip Reeve

6-8 years

  • (Gold) Ottoline and the Yellow Cat, by Chris Riddell
  • (Silver) Ivan the Terrible, by Anne Fine
  • (Bronze) Little Mouse's Big Book of Fears, by Emily Gravett

0-5 years

  • (Gold) When a Monster is Born, by Sean Taylor and Nick Sharratt
  • (Silver) Penguin, by Polly Dunbar
  • (Bronze) Dexter Bexley and the Big Blue Beastie, by Joel Stewart